Sunday, April 10, 2011

Cannone Wins Sportsmanship Award

The JOHN E. BURKE SPORTSMANSHIP AWARD is presented annually to a high school senior boy or girl who exemplify the principles of sportsmanship, integrity and dependability on and off the basketball court. Candidates for the award are nominated during the season by IAABO basketball officials throughout the state. Nominations are validated by coaches and others knowledgeable about the background of the nominees. The award recipients are selected by a vote of the members of the state executive committee.

The award takes on added prestige when you realize that this is one of the few awards where the class or size of the school does not play a part in the selection process. There are only two award winners for all of New Hampshire.

The award is sponsored by the NH State Board of Approved Basketball Officials in honor of the late John E. Burke, a former president of our board who officiated high school and college games for 33 years. He was one of the top officials in New England.

The ability of Mr. Burke to set the highest standard of conduct during games was an inspiration to thousands of players and officials during his career.

After Mr. Burke passed away in 1962, the New Hampshire Basketball officials chose to remember him and continue his ideals with the establishment of the JOHN E. BURKE SPORTSMANSHIP AWARD.

Each award recipient receives an individual plaque to commemorate the award. The permanent plaque will be displayed at Salem High School for the next year, until another recipient is chosen. We are pleased to present the JOHN E. BURKE SPORTSMANSHIP AWARD for 2010 to Matt Cannone.

No comments:

Post a Comment