Saturday, May 14, 2011

Green Wins WGAM Mr. Basketball Award

WGAM Radio is NH's leader in high school sports coverage on the radio. And every year they recognize 1 player with the Mr. Basketball Award. The 2011 WGAM Mr. Basketball Awards Banquet was held on Thursday night at Fratello's restaurant in Manchester.

The 5 finalists for the award were Connor Green (Bishop Guertin), David Madol (Manchester Memorial), Mike O'Loughlin (Milford HS), Steve Spirou (Pelham HS) and John Wickey (Manchester Central).

All 5 players and their coaches were interviewed on the air, and then Connor Green was announced as the winner. Here is video footage from the banquet, courtesy of WMUR, plus more info on the award and the 5 finalists.

Any player in the state, regardless of what grade they're in or what division they school is in is eligible for this award. Past winners include Mike Stys, Jordan Laguerre and Zach Mathieu. The award is voted on by the WGAM Friday Night Lights staff, as well as other media outlets such as the NH Notebook, WMUR TV, Union Leader and NH Sports Page. All voting takes place AFTER the regular season and state tournaments have all been completed.

Connor Green wins the award, adding to a long list of accomplishments which includes winning a Division I state championship this season with BG, being named this year's NH Gatorade Player of the Year and making the NHBCO D-I First Team. The Cardinals did not lose a game all year with Green in the lineup. He will be doing a post-grad year next season at Phillips Exeter Academy.

David Madol has won back-to-back Division I (Class L) Player of the Year Awards. Madol's combination of size, athleticism and skill has gone unmatched in the NHIAA over the last 2 years. He told WGAM that next year he plans on attending college, and 2 schools he's considering are Southern New Hampshire University and the University of New Haven.

Mike O'Loughlin has led Milford to back-to-back Division II state titles. He was a first team all-state selection by the NHBC each of the last 2 seasons. He scored 1,000 points for his career. And next season he will be taking his game to Trinity College.

Steve Spirou was this season's NHBCO Division II Player of the Year. He led Pelham to the D-II semi-finals and as a sophomore he helped lead the Pythons to the title game. Spirou scored his 1,000th point as a junior. He will also be attending and playing basketball at Trinity College.

John Wickey has been a Division I first team all-state selection each of the last 2 years by the NHBCO. And this year he was named the D-I Player of the Year by both the NH Notebook and NH Sports Page. He also led the Little Green to the D-I semi-finals this past season. Wickey originally committed to Colby Sawyer College, but has recently de-committed and instead will attend and play basketball at Babson College.

No comments:

Post a Comment